Prize Money is awarded to the top area schools participating in the Yorktown Center School Bucks Program 2016-2017

Lombard, IL (June 6, 2017) — Yorktown Center’s 2016-2017 School Bucks program will culminate with an $8,000 check presentation to the top school, Lester Elementary School. The recognition ceremony will occur during the school’s annual Field Days on Thursday, June 8, 2017, at 9am. Schools from DuPage County were invited and actively participated in this loyalty initiative where Yorktown Center awarded nine schools a cumulative total of $20,000.

Launched in 2016, the Yorktown Center School Bucks program awards shoppers based on each dollar spent on merchandise, food and services at any Yorktown Center store or restaurant as well as offers “bonus points” throughout the year. The dollars spent are worth points for the participating school of choice. Receipts are redeemed for points at the Yorktown Center Guest Services desk, and the schools with the most points at the end of the year are awarded a portion of the $20,000.
With the funds presented, schools are able to purchase new technologies, band instruments, arts program tools, sports equipment and more. This year, the top school, Lester Elementary School, will donate winnings to the Lester PTA Playground Committee for a new playground area befitting all students.

“Our primary goal is to give back to our community in a meaningful way,” said Todd Hiepler, Yorktown Center General Manager. “By choosing the local educational system as our platform, we get to see direct results from our donations implemented into the schools that contribute to the future well-being of the communities that support Yorktown Center. We have already received positive feedback from the participating schools. We hope to grow the School Bucks program next year to further reward our loyal, local shoppers and enhance the students’ educational experiences.”


Congratulations to this year’s winning schools!

  1. Lester Elementary School
  2. Montini Catholic High School
  3. Henry Puffer Elementary School
  4. Herrick Middle School
  5. Belle Aire Elementary School
  6. Westfield Middle School
  7. Elmwood Elementary School
  8. Madison Elementary School
  9. Marquette Manor Baptist Academy